Awards and Media

Awards and lifetime memberships

Recognition – Taxi Driver of the Year

The Taxi Driver of the Year Awards was introduced in 1995 and held annually with the exception of 2003, 2006 and 2010. They are designed to give Taxi Drivers, the backbone of the industry, recognition for outstanding service in the industry.

Until 2014, the nominations were made through a nomination form held in the taxi. The 2014 became more “high tech” with nominations now through the website at The Taxi Council also welcomes nominations to our email address at Passengers are encouraged to nominate taxi drivers who provide customer service that stands out from the crowd, keeping in mind the following criteria:

    Driver Knowledge and Skills
    Courtesy and Helpfulness
    Driver Vehicle and Presentation
    Safety and Comfort
    Service to Passengers with Special Needs

Special comments are asked for on the nomination page and those comments are taken into account by the judges. The drivers who receive the best most appropriate comments are personally interviewed at the completion of the awards by the judging panel. The driver presents himself for a personal interview. Questions at this interview normally relate to the taxi industry. The grand winner is announced at the gala dinner at the end of the awards. With the amount of nomination forms received increasing on an annual basis, it is clear that the drivers very well receive the awards. The committee believes that it is one of the essential ingredients in maintaining its place as the number one taxi provider in Australia.

Lifetime membership awards


Jeff Mattner awarded 1987


Ben Robinson awarded 2002


Wally Sievers Awarded 2004


Norm Cooper awarded 2008


Cheryle Conduit Awarded 2011


John Linn awarded 2013


Richard Holt Awarded 2013


George Grabczewski OAM B.C Awarded 2015


Steve Savas Awarded 2018


Award Recipients

Steve Savas

Taxi Council Member, Norm Cooper nominated Steve Savas for Life Membership and at this year’s Annual General Meeting the Members agreed. Steve was President for most of the 1990’s up until 2001. As a driver he commenced his association with the industry some 50 years ago. He purchased his first licence in 1969. As well as his terms as President, Steve has been a committee member for a significant part of the last 50 years. In addition, he has served on the Executive of the National Body, the ATIA. His industry contribution was also extended to be a Director of Taxi Owners Mutual and Suburban Transport Services.

 Ben Robinson

Award: Medal of the Order of Australia Date granted: 11 June 2001 for service to transport, particularly the taxi industry in South Australia.


 Wally Sievers


Award: Medal of the Order of Australia Date granted: 11 June 2007 for service to the taxi industry in South Australia through administrative roles with a range of bodies.


 Bill Gonis

Bill GONIS OAM Award: Medal of the Order of Australia Date granted: 26 January 2006 for service to the South Australian taxi and transport industry, and to the Greek community.



Award: Medal of the Order of Australia 26 January 1996 for service to the Polish community and the taxi industry.
Officer Cross of Polonia Restitvta for Service to the Community April 1991 from the President of Poland “Lech Walesa”
Commander Cross, Order of Merit, Republic of Poland
Gold Medal for 50 years of service to the Polish Olympic Committee 1956-2006 Awarded by the Polish Olympic Committee